Contributed by Yellow Cab PW
Everyone has seen the advertisements, heard the horror stories and had a friend who either got caught or got away with drinking and driving. This article will illustrate the cost associated with making the decision to get behind the wheel after a fun night out on the town or a few quiet drinks at home.
From your house to your favorite neighborhood pub or a Holiday party around town, a Prince William County taxi will cost you $3.00 to get in the cab and $2.00 a mile. If your trip is 5 miles that is $13.00 for 25 miles it is $50.00. To go from one end of the County to the other (Quantico to Bull Run Mountain) is around 45 miles or $93.00 (estimate). So let’s use $100 or less for our fare.
That may sound expensive but let’s compare it to the real cost of a DUI or DWI charge. When you get pulled over and go through the breathalyzer and fail a few field sobriety tests you will be handcuffed and placed in the backseat of one of the most expensive rides you will ever take. Once you have sobered up sufficiently you will have to find a ride home or to retrieve your car. The tow and impound bill in Prince William County for a drunk driving offense is $200.00 and $50.00 per day storage. After 3 days a $150.00 administrative fee will be added to the total.
Now you will need to find an attorney. Unless there is a lawyer in your family expect this to cost $2500.00 or more.
If convicted you will have to pay fines and court cost. The fines for a first offense are up to $2500.00 if the charge is not reduced by the courts. Included in a DUI OR DWI conviction is a requirement to attend a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) which ranges from $30.00 to $500.00. You may also be required to have an ignition interlock system installed in your vehicle. The cost to install this device ranges from $50.00 to $200.00 with a monthly rental of $50.00 to $100.00.
The last and probably most expensive cost that you will incur is the increase in insurance premiums. If your insurance company does not outright cancel your policy you can expect additional premiums over at least the next three years.
Total cost for a cab $100.00 or less but a drunk driving conviction will cost you more than $5000.00 by the time everything is tallied.
The next time you are going to have a drink please call a cab and save a bundle!
As an additional note the Washington Regional Alcohol Program (WRAP) is running their SoberRide Program from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. nightly from December 13, 2013 to January 1, 2014. To receive a free cab ride home (up to a $30.00 fare), please call 800-200-8294 (TAXI). AT&T customers may dial #WRAP from their wireless phones. Please refer to the SoberRide information listed below for important details concerning this program. You must be 21 or older to use the SoberRide service.
Important note: All requests for SoberRide service must be called to and dispatched from 1-800-200-8294. Do not call a taxi company directly for SoberRide service as the ride will not be covered under this program.
Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. Prince William Living Inc. and it’s staff make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact [email protected]