2018 Virginia Index of Performance Awards

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Prince William County Schools

Twenty-two schools in Prince William County earned 2018 Virginia Index of Performance (VIP) Awards. This number is almost twice the number of Prince William County schools that earned the honor two years ago. Only 349 schools statewide earned the honor. The VIP program recognizes schools and divisions that exceed state and federal accountability standards and achieve excellence goals established by the Governor and the Board of Education.

“The teachers, principals and support staff in these schools share a commitment to academic excellence and meeting the needs of every learner,” said Governor Ralph Northam. “I congratulate our educators, school administrators, and the students of these great schools for achieving the Commonwealth’s highest award for schoolwide excellence.”

Superintendent Steve Walts congratulated the schools for earning this distinguished achievement.

“I am very proud of these schools and all of the work that has gone into ensuring every student is receiving a World-Class Education,” said Dr. Walts. “These awards are a testament to our strong focus on academic success. Congratulations to the staff members, students, parents and community members for working together to achieve academic excellence.”

Ashland Elementary, Battlefield High School, Cedar Point Elementary, Alvey Elementary, Mary G. Porter Traditional School, Patriot High School, Pennington Traditional School and Thurgood Marshall Elementary all earned a Virginia Board of Education Excellence Award.

To earn a Virginia Board of Education Excellence Award, schools must meet all state and federal accountability benchmarks and make significant progress toward goals for increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities set by the board.

Bennett Elementary, Brentsville District High School, Buckland Mills Elementary, Gainesville Middle School, Henderson Elementary, Marsteller Middle School, Mountain View Elementary, Occoquan Elementary, Old Bridge Elementary, Osbourn Park High School, Reagan Middle School, T. Clay Wood Elementary, The Nokesville School and Westridge Elementary earned Distinguished Achievement awards.

According to Superintendent of Public Instruction James F. Lane, the criteria for these awards provide short-term and long-term goals for principals, superintendents and communities as they develop the improvement plans all schools must have under the Board of Education’s new accreditation standards.

More information about the VIP incentive program for schools and school divisions is available on the VDOE website.


Comments are closed.