Cappies High School Theatre Awards Nominations

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Osbourn Park Theatre Arts

The Cappies High School Theatre Awards nominations are announced – and Osbourn Park Theatre Arts has earned five nominations!

Congratulations to the nominees:

  • Nathan Rankin and Ava Foster for Hair and Make-up,
  • Luke Padilla for Best Comic Actor in a Musical,
  • Maddy Sifford and Natalie Todd for Stage Management,
  • Daryn Smolen, Mohammed Islam, and Riley Ater for Costumes,
  • Theatre Tech Classes for Sets.

These Osbourn Park High School students will proudly represent Prince William County at the Cappies Gala at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on May 27.

Osbourn Park High School’s production of “The Addams Family: A New Musical” featured a cast of 52 and a crew of 10, directed by Theatre Teacher Christine Maxted.  Band Director Jeffrey J. Kuchan conducted the orchestra that included 12 students. The production team also featured members of Prince William County performing arts organizations: Laura Mills from Prince William Little Theatre as Assistant Director, Leslie Vidal of Upper Room Theatre Ministries and the Academy of Russian Ballet as Choreographer, James Maxted of Prince William Little Theatre as Set Advisor, Kevin Curry of AKT3 as Lighting Designer, and Sarah Jane Scott of Grace United Methodist as Vocal Director. Most of the students are active participants in Osbourn Park High School’s flourishing Performing Arts Program, including the Choral program led by Dominick Izzo.

The Addams Family Musical was the most well-attended musical for Osbourn Park High School. Audience members included Virginia locals as well as visitors from out of state. The students were especially delighted to see Virginia Delegate Danica Roem and Superintendent Steven L. Walts support the arts in Prince William County by attending their final performance.

The Cappies is an international program for recognizing, celebrating, and providing learning experiences for high school theater and journalism students.


Comments are closed.