Chesapeake Bay Program Reauthorization Passes the House

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Congressman Rob Wittman’s Office

The House has passed the Chesapeake Bay Program Reauthorization Act (H.R. 1620). Congressman Rob Wittman (VA-01) joined Rep. Elaine Luria (VA-02) and fellow Chesapeake Bay Watershed Task Force Co-Chairs Rep. Bobby Scott (VA-03) and Rep. John Sarbanes (MD-03) in introducing this legislation. This will fully fund the Environmental Protection Agency’s Chesapeake Bay Program by authorizing $455 million for the Program over the next five years. The funding for the Program would go directly toward states within the Chesapeake Bay Watershed – Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, and New York, plus the District of Columbia – to help them control pollution and manage runoff into the tributaries feeding into the Bay.

 “The Chesapeake Bay is a national treasure and a centerpiece of the culture and economy of many coastal communities in Virginia, and neighboring states,” Wittman said. “Through the Chesapeake Bay Program, the overall health of the bay has improved significantly over the last 30 years. We are seeing better water quality, more rockfish, and more blue crabs. However, without continued collaboration among stakeholders and federal support, progress in the Bay is threatened. With today’s action, we are one step closer to ensuring that the Chesapeake Bay remains the economic foundation of our region that will be enjoyed for generations to come.”

Congressman Rob Wittman represents the 1st District of Virginia. He serves on the House Natural Resources Committee and the House Armed Services Committee, where he serves as the ranking member of the Seapower and Projection Forces Subcommittee.


Comments are closed.