Comstock named to the Joint Economic Committee

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Congresswoman Barbara Comstock’s Office

U. S. Congressman Pat Tiberi (R-OH), Chairman-Designate of the Joint Economic Committee, welcomed the newest members of the Joint Economic Committee, U.S. Senator Rob Portman (OH) and U.S. Representatives Barbara Comstock (VA), Darin LaHood (IL), and Francis Rooney (FL).

“I welcome our Committee’s new members and look forward to working together to encourage a better way forward for our nation,” said Tiberi. “I am confident the Joint Economic Committee will play a critical role supporting both the House and Senate to promote pro-growth policies that foster a strong environment to create jobs, boost wages, and allow Americans to keep more of their hard-earned money.”

“I look forward to having a voice for our region on the bicameral Joint Economic Committee to promote policies to help our innovation economy and 21st century jobs in the Commonwealth of Virginia and around the country.” – Congresswoman Barbara Comstock (R-VA)

The Joint Economic Committee (JEC) was created when Congress passed the Employment Act of 1946. Under this Act, Congress established two advisory panels: the President’s Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) and the Joint Economic Committee. Their primary tasks are to review economic conditions and to recommend improvements in economic policy. Chairmanship of the Committee alternates between the Senate and House every Congress. The Chairman-Designate, Vice-Chairman Designate, and the Senate Republican members have been named for the 115th Congress.

These new members join Republican Senators Mike Lee (UT), Vice Chair-Designate, Tom Cotton (AR), Ted Cruz (TX), Bill Cassidy (LA), and Ben Sasse (NE) and Representatives Erik Paulsen (MN) and David Schweikert (AZ).


Leave A Reply