Congrats to the PWCS National Merit Semifinalists

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Prince William County Schools (PWCS)

Congratulations to students Natalie Homnyom, Tristan Baird, Abigail Morgan, Lisa Moshiro, Grace Yeboah-Kodie, Lauren Osborne, Kenneth Petscavage, Hailey Page, Matthew Trang, and Daniel Dereberry who join the nationwide pool of semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. About 1.6 million high school juniors entered the program by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Now in their senior year, these PWCS students are among the highest scoring entrants from Virginia and join less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors who are continuing to the next stage of this scholarship competition.

As semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program, these students will compete for one of the 7,500 Merit Scholarship awards, which combined are worth more than $32 million. Tristan Baird, Abigail Morgan, and Lisa Moshiro attend Battlefield High School, Hailey Page is student at Brentsville District High School, Grace Yeboah-Kodie attends Charles J. Colgan High School, Daniel Dereberry  is a student at Forest Park High School, Lauren Osborne and Kenneth Petscavage attend Osbourn Park High School, Matthew Trang is a student at Patriot High School, and Natalie Homnyom attends Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Fairfax.

Three types of Merit Scholarship awards will be offered in 2018: National Merit $2,500 scholarships, corporate-sponsored scholarships, and college-sponsored scholarships. The non-profit National Merit Scholarship Corporation will release the names of the 2018 Merit Scholarship winners to news media nationwide beginning in April and concluding in July 2018.


Comments are closed.