Del. Richard Anderson Elected Chairman of Virginia War Memorial Board

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Virginia War Memorial Board


Delegate Richard L. “Rich” Anderson of Woodbridge has been elected Chairman of the Board of the Virginia War Memorial.

Delegate Anderson has represented Virginia’s 51st District (Prince William County) in the House of Delegates since 2010. A native of Roanoke, Va. and a graduate of Virginia Tech and Webster University, he served 30 years on active duty in the US Air Force and retired with the rank of Colonel in 2009.

Among his committee assignments in the Virginia General Assembly, Delegate Anderson serves as Co-Chair of the Joint House-Senate Military and Veterans Caucus, the legislative clearing house for bills affecting 800,000 Virginia veterans. He also sits as a member of the Virginia Board of Veterans Services and as a member of the Virginia Military Advisory Council (VMAC).

“Delegate Anderson is a superb selection to serve as Chairman of the War Memorial Board,” said Dr. Clay Mountcastle, Virginia War Memorial Executive Director. “His personal military experience, dedication to veterans’ issues, and his pure enthusiasm for the War Memorial’s mission will greatly benefit the board. We look forward to working closely with him in the years to come.”

The Virginia War Memorial in Richmond is the Commonwealth’s tribute to its fallen heroes, veterans and active military. Dedicated in 1956, the Memorial includes the names of the nearly 12,000 Virginia heroes who made the ultimate sacrifice during World War II, Korea, Vietnam, the Persian Gulf and the ongoing Global War on Terrorism. Its basic mission is to Honor Veterans, Preserve History, Educate Youth, and Inspire Patriotism in All.

The Virginia War Memorial is a division of the Virginia Department of Veterans Services and serves as integral part of its mission in support of all Virginians who served in our armed forces.


The Virginia War Memorial Board was established in 1991 by the Virginia General Assembly and given oversight and responsibility for the Memorial. The Board is comprised of twenty-four members: ten citizens appointed by the Governor, four members of the Senate of Virginia, six members of the House of Delegates, and four ex-officio members including the Chairman of the Board of Veterans Services, Chairman of the Board of the Virginia War Memorial Foundation, Chairman of the Joint Leadership Council of Veterans Services Organizations, and the Commissioner of the Department of Veterans Services.



Leave A Reply