Mullen Elementary and The Nokeville School Recognized for Exemplary Counseling Programs

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Prince William County Schools (PWCS)

The counselors at Mullen Elementary School and The Nokesville School give their best effort every day to ensure their students have the most supportive environment in which to learn. The American School Counselor Association (ASCA) has awarded both schools for their counseling programs, naming each as a “Recognized ASCA Model Program” (RAMP), for implementing a comprehensive developmental school counseling program.

A total of 29 PWCS schools now have the RAMP designation, including 16 which have received designation or re-designation within the last five years. This includes New Directions Alternative Center, which carries its designation through 2020 and is the only alternative school in the United States to achieve renewed designation.

More than 600 schools across the country have received the RAMP designation. RAMP designations are good for five years; schools may re-apply. Bristow Run Elementary School was the first PWCS school to earn the RAMP title and has since been re-designated continuously.

School counselors in PWCS work as a team with the school staff, parents, and the community to create a caring climate and atmosphere. By providing education, prevention, early identification, and intervention, school counselors play a pivotal role in helping all children achieve academic success.

“We are proud of these schools for going above and beyond to ensure that a comprehensive school counseling program is delivered to PWCS students. Each day, school counselors across our Division work tirelessly to support students with their academic, career, and personal/social growth. To that end, these schools have illustrated their commitment to students and their families,” said Dr. Deborah Ransom, PWCS supervisor of Elementary Counseling and Related Services.

Mullen Elementary and The Nokesville School will be honored at a recognition ceremony at ASCA’s annual conference in Los Angeles, on July 16.

PWCS schools with RAMP designation within the last five years include:

  1. Battlefield High School, Haymarket
  2. Bristow Run Elementary School, Bristow
  3. Coles Elementary School, Manassas
  4. Fannie W. Fitzgerald Elementary School, Woodbridge
  5. Forest Park High School, Woodbridge
  6. Gar-Field Senior High School, Woodbridge
  7. J. W. Alvey Elementary School, Haymarket
  8. Mullen Elementary School, Manassas
  9. New Directions Alternative Education Center, Manassas
  10. Patriot High School, Nokesville
  11. Rockledge Elementary School, Woodbridge
  12. Sinclair Elementary School, Manassas
  13. T. Clay Wood Elementary School, Nokesville
  14. The Nokesville School, Nokesville
  15. Tyler Elementary School, Gainesville
  16. Victory Elementary School, Bristow

Comments are closed.