Occoquan Historical Town Minutes (1933 to 1935)

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Occoquan Mayor Earnie Porta

Town staff have discovered Occoquan Town Council meeting minutes going back, thus far, to 1933.  To preserve them and make them readily available for researchers and others, the documents are being scanned and placed for public access on the Occoquan Historical Society web site.

Thus far, the site contains the minutes from 1933 through 1935.  Among the information that immediately stands out:

  • In the absence of a Town Hall, meetings were held in businesses and even in personal residences.
  • The town participated in the very brief Civil Works Administration (CWA), a New Deal program designed to provide jobs during the winter of 1933-1934.  Occoquan’s project appears to be related to a storm sewer and possibly involved “Ballawhack branch,” Occoquan’s Ballywhack Creek.
  • Some will note that the scans reveal that on the reverse of some pages is the letterhead of the American Surety Company of New York, including an image of its iconic 19th-century building that is today a New York City landmark.  The Town Clerk at the time, B.W. Brunt, was an agent of the company, and appears to have sometimes had the minutes of the Town Council meetings typed up on the blank side of his office letterhead. A direct scan of the reverse of one such page is included.

To check out this collection of historical documents, visit occoquanhistoricalsociety.org/documents.

Share.

Comments are closed.