Prince William Library Foundation Awards $1,000 Scholarships To Library System Volunteers

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

To the delight of family and friends, as well as the Library Board of Trustees, the Library Foundation Board of Directors, and the library staff, the Prince William Library Foundation awarded scholarships to two worthy Prince William Public Library System volunteers.  At a reception held at Chinn Park Regional Library on Monday evening, July 8th, two students received $1,000 scholarships.  After a very competitive process, Matthew Dale Burke, a Brentsville District resident and volunteer at Nokesville Neighborhood Library and Daniella Rosa Aron-Schiavone, a Coles District resident who volunteers at the Bull Run Regional Library, were the successful applicants.  Matthew is attending Shenandoah University, where he is majoring in Mass Communications and Daniella will attend the College of William and Mary in the fall.  Both students have commendable career goals.

“This is the second annual scholarship award presentation from the Prince William Library Foundation and we are honored to give back to these volunteers who have supported the Library System,” said Bryanna Altman, President of the Prince William Library Foundation.   In order to be eligible for the scholarship, students must be active Library volunteers or be related to an active volunteer, as well as meeting other criteria.

“Though the scholarship is intended to be used for tuition, books, or related fees, the scholarship recipients may use any funds awarded in the manner they believe best aids their personal educational objective,” said Connie Gilman, Library System Director.

Matthew and Daniella, along with all other candidates for the scholarships, were required to submit letters of recommendation for each school or community activity.  “These students met many requirements in order to qualify for this award, and I was pleased to have been part of this initiative” noted Library Board of Trustees’ Chairman, Burk Andrews, who served on the Selection Committee for the scholarship.

In addition to Chairman Andrews of the Occoquan District, two other members of the Library Board of Trustees, Taalibah Hassan the At-Large Trustee and Ellen Ripper, the Woodbridge District Trustee, served on the Selection Committee.

For more information on the winners and their accomplishments, visit the Prince William Library Foundation website at


Leave A Reply