School Board and Superintendent Celebrate Outstanding Teachers and Administrators

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Prince William County Schools (PWCS)

“Each person we are honoring this evening is part of the remarkable team that is Providing A World-Class Education to the students of Prince William County Public Schools,” said Superintendent Dr. Steve Walts, as he welcomed elected officials, administrators, teachers, and families to the annual celebration for outstanding educators. Standing ovations and a festive spirit marked the event, which was held Jan. 30 at Colgan High School.

The reception and ceremony honored 22 educators who have earned the title of National Board Certified Teacher; and 29 teachers and two principals selected to represent their schools in the School Division’s Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year award programs. See list of honorees.

National Board Certification is the highest attainable professional certification for educators in the nation; less than three percent of the national teaching workforce have achieved this. Of the teachers honored, 10 were re-certified this year. A rigorous course of study is required for National Board Certification.

Colgan High School’s orchestra director, Ben Bernstein, led the school’s orchestra ensemble during the reception; and Rochelle Kidd, orchestra director at Benton Middle School, inspired more than 40 students to put on a World-Class performance worthy of a standing ovation.

In concluding the program, Dr. Walts said, “We have met some pretty impressive people tonight. Best of all, each of them will continue to do what they do best. That’s all about educating our students and creating great opportunities for their success.”

Honorees received certificates and copies of a Congressional Record tribute to their achievements, courtesy of U.S. Congressman Gerald Connolly (11th District).  U.S. Congressman Rob (1st) Wittman presented certificates of recognition to each honoree. School Board members attending included Chairman Ryan Sawyers, Vice Chairman Lillie G. Jessie (Occoquan), Diane L. Raulston (Neabsco), Alyson Satterwhite (Gainesville), and Gil Trenum (Brentsville). County Supervisors John Jenkins (Neabsco) and Ruth Anderson (Occoquan) also attended.

A committee comprised of parents, staff, and administrators reviewed all the submissions for the Teacher and Principal of the Year awards.

Photos from the Celebrating our Educators ceremony on Jan. 30.

Comments are closed.