Three Members from the Virginia General Assembly Appointed to PRTC Board

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by OmniRide

The Virginia House of Delegates and Virginia Senate have appointed representatives to the Board of Commissioners for the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission (PRTC). These appointments fill positions that have been vacant since January 2020.

Virginia Delegate Lee J. Carter, D-50th, and Delegate Elizabeth R. Guzman, D-31st, were appointed in June to serve on the PRTC Board through January 2022. Both Delegate Carter and Delegate Guzman are new to the PRTC Board.

Virginia Senator George L. Barker, D-39th, a PRTC Commissioner since 2016, was re-appointed to the Board in June. His new PRTC term expires in January 2024.

Prince William County Supervisor Margaret Angela Franklin serves as PRTC Board Chair. Franklin said, “Having officials at the state level actively participating on the PRTC Board is always an asset because they bring a wider perspective to budget and operational issues. The entire Board looks forward to working with our representatives from the General Assembly over the next several years.”

PRTC oversees the mobility services provided by OmniRide as well as the train operations of the Virginia Railway Express. The PRTC Board has 13 members representing area jurisdictions; three members represent the General Assembly, and one member represents the Commonwealth Transportation Board. The PRTC Board has a full complement of Commissioners with these three General Assembly appointments.

The PRTC Board typically meets at 7:00 p.m. on the first Thursday of the month at the OmniRide Transit Center in Woodbridge. Meetings are open to the public. During the COVID-19 pandemic, the PRTC Board has been meeting virtually and livestreaming meetings on YouTube for the public to observe.

For more information about OmniRide, visit or call 703-730-6664.


Comments are closed.