Provided by Prince William County Schools (PWCS)
Tdap Required for Entry to Seventh Grade
The Virginia General Assembly passed a law in 2019 changing the grade in which students receive the tetanus, diphtheria, and acellular pertussis (Tdap) adolescent booster vaccine from sixth to seventh grade. This legislation aligns with recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, changing the minimum recommended age for the Tdap adolescent booster vaccine from 10 to 11 years. Therefore, a routine adolescent booster dose of Tdap should not be administered to students younger than 11 years of age.
By state law, without proof of this immunization or an exemption on file, children will not be able to enroll in school for the 2020–21 school year. Refer to this 2019 list of frequently asked questions from the Virginia Department of Health (Word) , which remains in effect for 2020 and may help to answer concerns or questions. Parents are urged to call their child’s doctor or local health district if they have additional questions.
Students who received a Tdap immunization at age 10 will not need another Tdap vaccine to enter seventh grade.
Shots may be obtained from a doctor, military clinic, or the Prince William County Health District.
The Prince William County Health District may be reached at these locations and telephone numbers:
9301 Lee Avenue, Manassas, VA 20110, 703.792.6300, and 4001 Prince William Parkway, Suite 101, Woodbridge, VA 22192, 703.792.7300.
Documentation should be taken to your child’s middle school or one of the Global Welcome Center locations operated by the Office of English Learner Programs and Services.
Information on HPV Vaccine
State law requires information on human papillomavirus (HPV) and the human papillomavirus vaccine be provided to parents of rising sixth-grade students. This letter from Dr. M. Norman Oliver, state health commissioner, issued in 2019 is available in English and Spanish remains in effect. It provides answers to the most frequently asked questions.
Two doses of vaccine are required if the first dose is given before 15 years of age; three doses are required if the first dose is given later. Unlike other required vaccines, after reviewing materials provided by the Virginia Department of Health, the parent or guardian may elect for the child not to receive the HPV vaccine.
Shots may be obtained from a doctor, military clinics, or the Prince William Health District.
Contact information for the Prince William County Health District is 9301 Lee Avenue, Manassas VA 20110, 703.792.6301, and 4001 Prince William Parkway, Suite 101, Woodbridge VA 22192, 703.792.7300.
Parents should review their child’s shot record and contact their child’s doctor or local health district if they have questions. Parents may also contact Tira Hanrahan, adolescent health coordinator at the Virginia Department of Health, at 804.864.8055 or firstname.lastname@example.org; or Tracy White, school health nurse specialist at the Virginia Department of Education, at 804.786.8571 or Tracy.White@doe.virginia.gov.
A complete list of all immunizations required for school entry is available in “School & Day Care Minimum Immunization Requirements” from the Virginia Department of Health.