Wexton Announced as Co-Chair of Transgender Equality Task Force

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Rep. Jennifer Wexton’s Office

The Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus announced that the Transgender Equality Task Force will be led by Co-Chairs Representatives Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), Marie Newman (IL-03), and Pramila Jayapal (WA-07) for the 117th Congress. The Task Force will work with the Caucus to amplify transgender issues and take on special projects to help elevate the Caucus’ concerns. As a first step, the Co-Chairs are releasing a resolution that will begin circulating today honoring International Transgender Day of Visibility.

“As Co-Chair of the Congressional Transgender Equality Task Force, I look forward to being on the front lines in addressing and defending issues of basic human rights affecting my transgender friends and family. The trans community remains under attack with dehumanizing bills going through state legislatures and false narratives being amplified by the right and some Members of Congress,” said Vice Chair Jennifer Wexton (VA-10). “This Congress, it will be my mission to shine a light on the issues and the triumphs of transgender Americans, and to elevate their voices and visibility. I look forward to working alongside my Co-Chairs Congresswoman Marie Newman and Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal as we fight for those we love and those who want to be able to live freely and authentically in this country without the fear of discrimination.”

Founded in 2008, the mission of the Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus is to promote equality for all, regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity. The Caucus, which is led by the nine openly LGBTQ+ members of the House of Representatives, is strongly committed to achieving the full enjoyment of human rights for LGBTQ+ people in the U.S. and around the world.


Comments are closed.