Woodbridge High School Student Nominated for Presidential Honor

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Prince William County Schools (PWCS)

Will Calli is a student at Woodbridge High School (WHS). He has been nominated as one of five Virginia students for the U.S. Presidential Scholars for Career and Technical Education. Only 161 students are named Presidential Scholars each year.

The career and technical education (CTE) nominees are chosen based on their accomplishments in career and technical education fields. Students are nominated through their Chief State School Officer (CSSO). The who can nominate up to five candidates who meet the U.S. Presidential Scholars candidacy requirements.

Calli was nominated at the state level by his Engineering Teacher Timothy DeFelice, who is impressed with his determination to excel in the engineering program.

DeFelice said, “Will’s motivation and dedication to the field of engineering made him an easy choice for this opportunity. Last summer, he excelled in the Science and Engineering Apprenticeship Program through the Office of Naval Research. He plans to enroll again this summer. Following graduation, he will be attending the Webb Institute in New York to pursue a career in naval architecture and marine engineering. I am honored to have him represent Woodbridge High School and Prince William County Public Schools.”

Doug Wright, supervisor for CTE in the Office of Student Learning, is very proud that a PWCS student has been nominated for this honor. “CTE is very proud of Will… We appreciated all the support he has received from WHS and his CTE teacher Mr. Tim DeFelice. We are pulling for Will to become PWCS’s first U.S. Presidential Scholar,” said Wright.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was created in 1964 to recognize and honor outstanding high school seniors for their accomplishments academically. This program was expanded to include students who exhibit ability and accomplishments in career and technical education fields in 2015.

U.S. Presidential Scholars winners will be announced in May.


Comments are closed.

Follow this blog

Get a weekly email of all new posts.