Youth Salute Winners

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Provided by Theodore Strange

We are pleased to announce the Prince William County Youth Salute Winners.

Osbourn Park High School Senior Danbi Rhee is our 2018 Prince William County Youth Salute Winner. She will represent Prince William County Schools at the National Council on Youth Leadership Town Meeting Of Tomorrow in St. Louis next month. Ms. Rhee is one of over 110 Prince William County High School seniors, and ten finalists, honored for academic achievement, formidable leadership skills, and a strong commitment to service.

Rebecca Barnes, event speaker


The 28th Annual Prince William County Youth Salute Awards & Recognition Ceremony was held on Sept. 20 at Hylton High School in Woodbridge.  Speaker Rebecca Barnes, Publisher of Prince William Living Magazine, delivered a resounding charge to the recognized student leaders. Ms. Rhee and three runners-up, Iqua Noor – First Runner-Up (Freedom High School), Sean Zylich – Second Runner-Up (Woodbridge High School) and James Turner – Third Runner-Up (Colgan High School), received a Youth Salute Council Scholarship, Medal, and Plaque.


Ten finalists were selected based on their resumes and two essays on topics such as leadership, personal accomplishment, role models, and challenges facing youth today.  The following students were honored before their parents, family, peers, special guests, and school administrators at the Awards & Recognition Ceremony.

Winner                          Danbi Rhee               Osbourn Park High School
First Runner-Up       Iqua Noor                  Freedom High School
Second Runner-Up  Sean Zylich               Woodbridge High School
Third Runner-Up     James Turner           Colgan High School

In no particular order, the remaining  finalists are:

James Yeboah                                                 Hylton High School
Caitlin McDermott                                          Forest Park High School
Amber Clauss                                                  Osbourn Park High School
Claire Charlton                                                Patriot High School
Dana Klatt                                                       Stonewall Jackson High School
Brett Segal                                                      Woodbridge High School

Next Year

Rising high school seniors should contact their school’s Youth Salute Representative for application guidelines. We could be celebrating you in 2019 at our 29th Annual Prince William County Youth Salute Awards & Recognition Ceremony next September at Woodbridge High School.


Comments are closed.